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The future of marketing and search changed instantly when OpenAI launched ChatGPT in November 2022. Users were amazed at the artificial intelligence (AI) tool's ability to naturally engage with users and provide detailed answers to complex questions.

In just five days, it racked up a million users—something Spotify, Facebook, and Instagram took months to accomplish.

Many people began wondering whether ChatGPT and other generative AI tools—thanks to their ability to provide robust answers that don't require users to make multiple clicks—would overtake traditional search tools.

Competitors quickly took notice. Google declared a "code red" and quickly launched Bard, its own AI tool. Microsoft responded by investing a reported $10 billion into OpenAI to make Microsoft Azure the exclusive cloud provider for ChatGPT and incorporate the tool into its Bing search engine.

In just a few months, it's become clear that AI tools like ChatGPT could potentially bring extensive disruptions to marketing and search.

But a few key questions remain: Will ChatGPT replace marketers? Will it really end Google? And how can marketers embrace the new technology?

Is AI Coming for Our Jobs?

One of the most salient concern regarding AI is its potential impact on employment if it can truly work more efficiently at a significantly reduced cost than humans.

The release of ChatGPT underscored those concerns. However, its impact on marketing could vary widely, depending on the task.

Copy and Creative Production

Many ChatGPT users were shocked at the tool's ability to instantly produce (relatively) high-quality written content on any subject with a simple prompt. Marketers quickly keyed into the implications that held for search because a large component of SEO involves written content.

As the technology develops, tools like ChatGPT could potentially produce articles at scale without requiring an army of human copywriters.

For now, ChatGPT functions to support creative production by generating outlines and other forms of content that humans then modify. In the near term, AI tools could likely replace people who write highly reproducible SEO-focused content.

Search Engine Marketing

AI's impact on search engine marketing (SEM) will be slightly different, primarily because of the competing incentives around search. Here's why:

Imagine you are a marketer who wants to spend $25 on advertising that generates $100 in revenue, which is a return on ad spend (ROAS) of 4.0. If you turn those conditions over to Google's AI tools, their incentive is to spend as much as possible to get clicks. In other words, if you tell Google you want to spend $25, it will spend all $25.

Humans have different motivations. They'll take that ROAS goal and target several options to uncover efficiencies because their incentive is to spend as little as possible for clicks. Under those conditions, the experimentation could lead to a lower ROAS, delivering more profit to the advertiser.

Such tension means there will always be a benefit of having human advocates working in the SEM space because their presence delivers a compelling cost benefit.

Big Questions Around Search

Although ChatGPT may eventually replace some marketing roles, its capacity to overtake search is limited, mostly because of monetization and reliability issues.

High Technology Costs

At this point, ChatGPT's complex technology makes it cost-prohibitive to monetize the platform through paid advertising.

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No, ChatGPT Won't Make Marketing and Search Irrelevant (At Least for Now)

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ABOUT THE AUTHOR

image of Matt Bowen

Matt Bowen is the associate director of enterprise client services and strategy at Logical Position, an Inc 500 digital marketing agency.

LinkedIn: Matt Bowen